Kicking Rocks at Night

He kicked a large stone in front of his feet
and followed me in a black jacket

I started memorizing my path to the beat of the rock
hitting the hard street –
three large oil stains rainbow spreading

The sound of the beginning of an avalanche behind me
heard only in the periphery as I look down

The winding part where a stream runs through
and the water causes the hard cement to crack with holes –
black tar lumps

I think of how smart I was to buy metallic shoes
with pink laces that can be seen in the dark


Laila Simon is recent graduate of St. Olaf College. Based out of Portland, Oregon, she writes poetry, works making coffee, and looks for her next adventure. Previously published in St. Olaf’s The Quarry, and on the Rain Taxi: Review of Books website.

