I ATE WHAT YOU COULD HAVE DONE TO ME

Because I liked to feel forced because force
is power and I was young enough to believe

I could swallow your acceptance. Because
I lifted thighs to the mountain. I towered

over myself, made her little, slept with men
posing as kings. We could have created

many things. I am a light inside a bush
no one can smother; Moses bowed down.

Because I had to be fed, I ate like a whale
every inch of any thing you held over me.


duckfaceShannon Elizabeth Hardwick received her MFA from Sarah Lawrence College. Her manuscript was a finalist for the Levis Prize in poetry and her chapbook was recently released by Thrush Press. She is an associate poetry editor for The Boiler Journal. Her work has appeared in the following: 3:AM Magazine, Night Train, Versal, Sugar House Review, Four Way Review, among others.

2 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Wayswearelost's Blog and commented:
    I wrote a poem for the Journal “Thank You For Swallowing”. The journal was started in protest of a poem written by a man and selected for Best British Poets. His poem (which was not that good, let me add) is called “Thank You For Swallowing My Cum”. I wrote this poem as a part of women’s protest poetry.

Comments are closed.