FURTHER ARGUMENTS

If there is a god you must sculpt my bellied likeness then
bury me so dirt chokes my cry.
If there is a god you must bruise me with your broad hand,
the one with the Rolex.
If there is a god, you must snap my bones and giggle.
If there is a god, you must punch my womb and admire
my body’s pliancy.
If there is a god you must plunge me to a watery death,
as an argument rivaling Aquinas’ that there is a god.
If there is a god you must burn me, millions of me,
and warm to the frisky stench.
If there is a god, pray gratitude you were not born me,
and who will blame you?
You are reading this, you are not reading this. There is
a god.
You are listening, you are disinterested. There is a god.
You feel shame, or none. There is a god.
I am four hundred dead in the desert yet there is a god.
My children are target-rage and yet there is a god.
I am laughed at and condescended to and there is a god
there is, trust me.
I took the leap of faith over your life, proving there is
a god.
We are kneeling on our hearts agreeing this thing in each
of us is what I am calling god.

“Further Arguments” appeared in Minnesota Review, Spring 2007.


Sarah Sarai on 3-12-15 at 2.28 PM #2Sarah Sarai believes Audre Lorde will return to save us. Her poems are in Ascent, Yew, Posit, Boston Review, and others; in The Future Is Happy (BlazeVOX), available through Small Press Distribution; in anthologies and chapbooks. Visit My 3,000 Loving Arms.

